Welcome

Opening hours and consular district

Consulate of the Federal Republic of Germany

16 Eglinton Crescent

Edinburgh

EH12 5DG

Telephone: 0131 337 2323
Fax: 0131 346 1578

E-Mail: info@edin.auswaertiges-amt.de

Consular district of the German Consulate General in Edinburgh

Scotland and the following counties in North England: Cumbria, Durham, Northumberland, North Yorkshire (with the exception of York und Selby), Tyne and Wear.


Consular District Map

With the exception of German and British Bank Holidays, the Consulate General is open from Monday to Friday to provide the following services at the times detailed in the table below.

Please bear in mind that appointments must be made in advance for passport, identity card and visa applications, as well as for official name changes and birth certificates.

Applications for Passports and Identity Cards

Monday, Wednesday and Thursday 9:00 - 12:00, Friday 9:00 - 12:30

Monday and Tuesday 14:00 - 16.30, Wednesday 14:00 - 15:00, Thursday 14:00 - 15:30

by appointment only

book an appointment
Official Name Changes

Tuesday and Wednesday 14:00 - 16:15

by appointment only

book an appointment

Applications for Schengen Visas

Thursday 15:30 - 16:15

by appointment only

request an appointment by mail

Applications for Residence Permits

Tuesday 9:00 - 12:00

by appointment only

request an appointment by mail

Certification of signatures and copies
for use in Germany and
relating to property matters

by appointment only

request an appointment by mail

Certification of photocopies or signatures for renouncements of inheritance, student loans and police certificate

Monday to Friday 9:00 - 11:30

No appointment needed

The Consulate General will be closed on the following public holidays:

Wednesday, 01.01.2020New Year's Day
Thursday, 02.01.2020Scottish New Year's Holiday
Friday, 10.04.2020Good Friday
Monday, 13.04.2020Easter Monday
Friday, 01.05.2020May Holiday
Friday, 08.05.2020Liberation Day
Thursday, 21.05.2020Ascension Day
Monday, 25.05.2020Late May Bank Holiday
Monday, 01.06.2020Whit Monday
Monday, 03.08.2020Scottish August Bank Holiday
Thursday, 24.12.2020Christmas Eve
Friday, 25.12.2020Christmas Day
Thursday, 31.12.2020New Year's Eve

If you have questions about consular issues that are not answered on our website, you can contact us by phone (0131 337 2323)  at the following times:

Monday to Thursday: 2.00pm to 3.00pm

Friday: 8.00am to 9.00am

facebook
facebook© facebook

Like us on Facebook!
Top of page